Fair Housing Board


  • 4:00 P.M.
  • 3rd Thursday of every month
  • Council Chambers

Agendas & Minutes

Additional Information

The City of Lorain seeks to further its diversity and provide opportunities through the enforcement of Chapter 136 of the local codified ordinances pertaining to Fair Housing. If you feel that you have been discriminated against, or have general inquiries pertaining to Fair Housing, please contact Neighborhood Development Specialist, Matt Kusznir at 440-204-2304 or Matt_Kusznir@cityoflorain.org.

For more information, visit the Building, Housing & Planning Department/Fair Housing page found HERE.


The City of Lorain’s Department of Building, Housing and Planning’s Fair Housing Administrator is tasked with promoting economic opportunities through the elimination of housing discrimination, by promoting diverse, inclusive neighborhoods throughout the city. Federal, state and city fair housing laws protect people from discrimination on the basis of:

  • Race
  • National Origin
  • Familial status
  • Religion
  • Sex


In addition, housing providers who are recipients of U.S Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) funding, have loans insured by the Federal Housing Administration (FHA), as well as lenders may be subjected to HUD and City of Lorain regulations to insure equal access to all.

Additional Resources

In addition to the City of Lorain's commitment to Fair Housing, there are many housing resources available to residents and services available for those facing an eviction.

Rent EscrowCity of Lorain-Clerk of Courts440-204-2140www.cityoflorain.org/219/Lorain-Municipal-Court
Housing & Rental AssistanceUnited Way211www.211lorain.org
Landlord/Tenant IssueLegal Aid Society/Elyria Office440-324-1121lasclev.org/get-help/housing
Health InspectionLorain County Health District440-322-6367www.loraincountyhealth.com


Fair Housing Documents

  1. Martin Leibas


  2. Rhoda Lee

    Vice Chairperson

  3. Sylvia DuVall


  4. Yvonne Johnson

    Board Member

  5. Rev. Dennis Johnson

    Board Member

  6. Jean Wrice

    Board Member

  7. Teresa Yuzon

    Board Member